Parenting

Nursing Mamas Can Officially Drink Coffee With No Harmful Effects

Well, I could have told you that! Silly.

Seriously though, I googled the poop out of this when my son was a teeny weeny thing, because I was so nervous that I’d get him all wired up on caffeine.

Turns out external factors like mom’s coffee habit don’t have that much anything to do with when baby will wake.  They pretty much have minds of their own, those bebes.

Caffeine Might Keep Moms Awake, But Not Their Babies : Shots – Health Blog : NPR.

So pour yourself another cup, you’re gonna need it, sister.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Nursing Mamas Can Officially Drink Coffee With No Harmful Effects

  1. Wow, this is interesting. I don’t have a kid and I’m not planning on having one (too) soon, but I always heard that caffeine was bad. What about when the lady is pregnant with the kid? At the restaurant where I work, I’ll get pregnant ladies who come in and order caffeinated drinks. I always wonder if I’m doing the baby a disservice by giving it to them…

    • michaela says:

      I know, it seems crazy. But the caffeine apparently doesn’t taint the milk, or at least in a way that affects baby/baby’s sleep.
      My doctor, who was pretty conservative, told me I could have a cup of regular in the AM while I was pregnant, so I did. Though usually I drank half-caf so I didn’t feel too guilty. I couldn’t even drink it in the first three months though because I was so sick.

      But, then again, I also drank a beer a day while nursing, because it supposedly boosts milk supply. (Not like Miller Lite or something, though, a good robust beer with lots of hops 🙂 )

      I say: if you need a cup, you are tired as all get out and need to get through the day—then have a cup. Just not 4 pots. 😉

Leave a Reply

