Food

Cayla’s Currywurst

Well, here it is. Currywurst, my way.

In ’08 and ’09 I spent a fair amount of time in Berlin, Germany. There I discovered the beauty of this treat: knockwurst slathered in tomatoe-y, curry goodness and Pommes (fries) with mayo. Mmmm….

Image

Dished up in Berlin. photo via berliner.de

Back stateside for a few years now, I’ve yet to find this treat despite my city’s diversity, not to mention it’s German roots. Although in my research I have found random places like this, but I’m not traveling to LA to get a currywurst.

I tried recipes like this, this and this. They are all good, in their own ways, but not exactly what I was looking for. So this is what I came up with, sort of a mix of all of the three recipes I experimented with.

 

Cayla’s Currywurst

1 pound knockwurst

1 small onion, diced

1 TBSP butter

1 8oz can tomato sauce

1 tsp sugar

1/2 C ketchup

1/2 tsp paprika

2 TBSP curry powder, plus extra for dusting

1/2-1 tsp sriracha (chile) sauce (optional)

 

 

1. In a medium saucepan, brown onions in butter.

2. Reduce heat and add tomato sauce, sugar, ketchup, spices, and chile sauce. I didn’t find Currywurst in Berlin to be particularly spicy but I like a little something extra sometimes, so chile sauce is entirely optional. Stir and allow to simmer 20 minutes or so.

3. Heat the knockwurst in a pan, skillet or on the grill. When heated through, cut links into slices, slather with tomatoe-y curry sauce and serve up with Pommes or Broetchen (German crispy rolls).

4. Dip those fries in Mayo and Guten Appetit!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

