Television

Downton Abbey

I’m a little late to the bandwagon here, but I usually am because we don’t have cable. If it hits Netflix, I can see it. If it doesn’t, then I don’t.

The last few days I’ve been walking around saying stuff in a fancy British accent, which admittedly is getting a lot better since I seem to be obsessing over a lot of British TV as of late. I’ve even been practicing using the word “fortnight” in my head, and actually drinking cups of tea. Naptime, Downton Abbey, and a hot cuppa. Mmhmm.

So I can’t say much that probably has not already been said or thought of about this series, but it is a gem.  I think my recent Call The Midwife discovery had me thirsty for more, having thoroughly explored my former British TV obsessions.

I have for a long time worshiped Absolutely Fabulous, and anything with Hugh Laurie, Stephen Fry, Ricky Gervais, and Martin Clunes. There are others too, such as the short-lived comedy Faulty Towers, which my husband turned me on to back when we had time to watch TV on the couch and kick it together, whenever we wanted.

So really only having experience with English comedy, my excitement for DA and CTM  is probably a little over the top.

But, apparently my love for Downton Abbey does not rest in solitude.

This is a video my dad made, his rendition of the theme song in solo piano. (A wonderful tribute, if I do say so myself.)

The first episode I found a bit slow to engage in, and it took me a few tries to finish it. At first I found myself immediately disliking the family and siding with the servant staff, but as time goes on I see sides of almost everyone that I can relate to. It really is quality writing for television. I think that might be where my obsession for British TV is coming from lately, since I’m somewhat tired of the dull network shows lately.

Anyway, just my chance to pimp my pops and one of my new favorite shows.

Cheers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

